“Mystery and Manners: Occasional Prose” by Flannery O’Connor Review

mystery

Mystery and Manners: Occasional Prose

Author: Flannery O’Connor

Release Date: 1957

This wasn’t what I expected (I was thinking it would have to do more with general writing techniques) but I still found it a worthwhile read. Mostly the author discusses religion and writing and southern influences, but I found her style preferable to say David Foster Wallace in a similar format. The editors of this book had a fascinating task condensing her various essays/speeches together to make an enjoyable read.

I did find it funny that I was recommended to start with this book for this author, but she even writes the best way to read a novel is with no background about the author.

I don’t recall who the author was referencing but the idea of authors gladly trading 100 readers now for 10 readers ten years from now or one reader 100 years from now resonated with me.

4-star

Leave a Reply

